Dialogue Between Despair And Hope

The following is a fictional, yet all too real dialogue between despair and hope. Despair: I find it delightful when I can create misery and darkness for humans. I don’t even care what age or gender they are, after all I’m not one for discrimination.  Hope: How can you say you find it delightful when someone is in misery? You have never known what delight feels like. Despair: Yes, true enough, but it is my mission to harvest turmoil in the minds of as many humans as I can you know. Hope: And it is my mission to offer a way out of their darkness and loneliness.  Humans can find joy in me even in their deepest and darkest moments. Despair: Don’t be ridiculousness Hope, humans cannot be happy when they are in misery. Humans simply can’t be happy and miserable at the same time. Hope: I never said humans can be happy and miserable at the same time. What I said was, they can find joy in me when they are miserable. There is a difference between joy and happiness. Despair: Oh really, and what’s the difference? Hope: Happiness is circumstantial and temporary, joy is internal and eternal. Humans can find joy in me because I am stronger than you! Despair: Don’t mock me Hope. You know full well that millions of humans are living under the influence of my name’s sake all over the world. I even bet that someone reading this feels my wrath this very instant. Hope: I am not mocking you despair. I am stating the truth. Unlike you, I never spread lie’s or deceit. You may have temporary control over millions, but I offer light in the midst of their darkness. And, even a little bit of light breaks through the darkest dark.

Despair: Then, I will have to try harder to keep humans from finding that light. I am an expert at keeping humans from you. I know exactly how to keep humans under my influence. All I have to do is take something away from them, like a job, security, a friend, or really anything that they hold dear.  Take something away and I have them. Or, I can make them feel alone and cut off from life. I’ll throw in a little anxiety and worry here, and a little sadness there, and just like that, I win!  Hope: Not so fast, despair. Remember, you are only temporary. I am eternal.  The humans under your influence may feel like you have a hold on them forever, but the reality is it really won’t last forever.  I have many influencers myself; family, friends, a future and prayer are my best gifts. My gifts are far more powerful than anything you can throw at humans.   I have one more thing to tell you despair. Despair: Yeah, what is it? Hope: I never give up and I never give in. I will constantly fight for humans, no matter how much influence you have on them. Now, leave!  Despair: You may have won this argument hope, but I will be back. Just you wait and see…

Visit https://www.cordraycounseling.com

Leave a comment